Making your way into the world of real estate is not easy, and one of the most important steps you can take is to get a Florida Real Estate License. This license will allow you to work as a real estate agent and legally sell properties in Florida. But how do you get this license? How much does it cost? And what are some things that you should know about before starting on this journey? Read on for everything that you need to know about getting your Florida real estate license!
- Be at least 18 years old.
- Have a high-school diploma or equivalent (like GED).
- Have a good character.
- You do NOT need to be a Florida resident.
- If you are already licensed in another state, you might qualify for a mutual recognition license if you are in one of the 8 states that have an agreement with Florida.
The 63 CLOCK-HOUR FLORIDA PRE-LICENSE COURSE is the first step toward obtaining a Florida real estate license. This course will teach you everything you need to know in order to become a Sales Associate and pass the licensing exam.
Topics covered include:
- The fundamentals of the real estate industry
- Statutes and regulations governing real estate
- Relationships between agencies
- How to Comply with State and Federal Laws
- Real estate legislation
- Mortgages and financing options
After you complete the course, you must then do the following:
- Must be approved by the Florida Real Estate Commission.
- Students may miss no more than 8 hours of class.
- Students must complete a 100-questions final examination with a score of at least 70%.
America’s Real Estate School will teach you everything that you need to know about the real estate industry, from local laws and regulations to closing costs. You can even take a free practice test here.
Apply For The Florida Exam
- Apply even before taking your course exam.
- Get your application from the state or apply online today.
- Get lots of information from the Candidate Information Booklet
- The application must be notarized and the following items included:
Pass The Florida Real Estate License State Exam
- Given by Pearson VUE, Inc.
- Pay $36.75 per exam.
- The exam is graded immediately after completion.
- Successful candidates may begin working after sending Form RE-11 (signed by the employing broker) to the DBPR.
- Enroll in the classroom, live-streamed, or online course.
- Get your application in the mail, or complete your application online.
- Begin your exciting real estate career!
How Long Does It Take to Get a Florida Real Estate License?
On average, it takes between 2 and 5 months to obtain a Florida real estate license. Some students complete the required 63-hour Pre-License course in a matter of weeks, while others may take several months, depending on how much time they have to devote to their studies.
After completing the required class, students should expect to spend an additional 1-2 months looking for a sponsoring broker, applying for a license, and passing the Florida real estate exam.
Before renewing your Florida real estate license for the first time, FREC requires you to complete a mandatory course of Post-License education.
Associates in Sales
Licensees with a Florida Real Estate Sales Associate License are required to complete 45 credit hours of post-licensing education.
Licensees with a Florida Real Estate Broker License are required to complete 60 credit hours of Post-License education.
Ready To Get Started Now?
Now that you are familiar with the steps required to get your real estate license, we highly recommend our 63-hour Online Sales Associate Pre-license Course. It fulfills all the requirements listed above and we offer our course bundled with or without an impressive selection of exam prep products which we have developed in-house from the ground up to complement the online course. We have been educating real estate professionals in our classrooms for decades and our reputation is second to none (click here to see what our students have to say about us)!